Welcome Guest [Log In] [Register]
Welcome to The Chamber of the Everchosen. We hope you enjoy your visit!


Here at COTEC we are all about the Warriors of Chaos in Warhammer Fantasy Battle.

Tactics to help you slaughter your opponent on the tabletop, through to galleries on how to build your next Warshrine. Its all covered... and growing!

We are a forum for gamers and hobbyist alike and again would like to welcome you to a fun, friendly, warm place and hope to see you again!


Join our legion! Takes less than a minute and gives you access to everything!


If you're already a member please log in to your account by entering the correct runes and words of power:

Username:   Password:
Add Reply
Bolt thrower 8th edition question
Topic Started: Oct 28 2016, 04:47 PM (217 Views)
Soulblight
Slave
[ * ]
Hi guys,

I'm aware 8th is dead and buried but we still play it often.
I have a question about a bolt thrower shooting at a character heavy unit of knights.

Front rank is 2 heroes on demonic mounts + a standard bearer with 2 ranks of knights behind them.
Does a bolt from the front always hit the lone knight in the first rank or can I choose to take the hit with the 3++ (reroll 1s) warded hero on the DM?
Or can I allocate hits on him only when the unit falls under 5 rank and file models?

Help appreciated, thanks!

Offline Profile Quote Post Goto Top
 
ryryak
Slave
[ * ]
Pretty sure it hits the odd knight in the front.

Until the unit falls below 5 RnF models all hits hit the unit and not the characters in the unit.
Offline Profile Quote Post Goto Top
 
ryryak
Slave
[ * ]
I just realized that your characters are on Daemonic mounts! As such they are not cavalry but monstrous cavalry, this changes things.

As their unit type is different than that of the unit they're in then you would use the rules in the brb for "mixed unit types" (it's pretty much identical to the example in the book where a character that is cavalry joins a unit that is infantry, just replace 'infantry' with 'cavalry' and 'cavalry' with 'monstrous cavalry'). I don't have my rulebook handy so I can't quote the rule to you.
Offline Profile Quote Post Goto Top
 
1 user reading this topic (1 Guest and 0 Anonymous)
« Previous Topic · Tactics · Next Topic »
Add Reply